Ellen - Rover's Retreat Dog Rescue

Go to content
17 lbs
West Highland Terrier Poodle Mix
11 months old
Spayed Female
Adopt Ellen

Oh, hey, didn’t see you there! My name is Ellen, but all my friends call me Ellie. I am an 11 month old west highland terrier poodle mix. I found my way into the arms of a wonderful foster family when my old owners realized they couldn’t take care of a cute puppy like me anymore. I know, right? Well, here I am, and I am ready to find my dream forever home.

I am a happy go lucky puppy who loves to be active. I love to go for walks, chase toys, and of course I get puppy zoomies. Although I have  puppy energy I am the biggest cuddle bug. I love to hang out on the couch with my people, and am fully content relaxing while my foster mom does stuff around the house, after I’ve had my walk and playtime. It’s hard to pick, but I think my favorite thing in the world has to be car rides. I will wait patiently for my foster family to open up the car door. Sometimes they just take so long that I have to let out a bark to remind them I’m ready to go.  I would make the most amazing adventure buddy.

I am extremely smart and am doing great with potty training, though I will need additional direction in my forever home in the beginning. Since I am a puppy and didn’t have a lot of consistency in my early puppyhood, I will need a family dedicated to working with me. I have normal puppy habits like nipping while playing and picking up things that I think are mine but are really my peoples’. With time, patience, and a family that wants to take me to training classes I will get much better with these things. I can be redirected easily and will drop things I shouldn’t have with the squeak of a toy or crinkle of a treat bag!

My foster mom has been working with me and I am learning quickly however my forever people will still need to be patient with me in the beginning. I wasn’t socialized a lot, so I am sensitive to new noises. I am a very social dog, and love all people, but I need lots of exposure to different environments for me to build my confidence. Because of this training classes would be very beneficial for me. I love other dogs and having another playful dog in my forever home would just make me so happy! I can get sad when my foster family has to go places without me, though I have been getting a lot better about being more comfortable home alone. I will need more gradual work with this so someone who can be home with me a lot would be ideal. I will make a fabulous dog for just about anyone who can provide me with the exercise and consistency I need. I am currently living in a home with a 10-year-old human sister and I do very well with her, but because I am a playful puppy I would do best with children over the age of 10 years old in my forever home. I am ready to start my new adventure… who wants to join the fun?

If you think I might be a great addition to your family, please complete our adoption application:  Adoption Application




Back to content